Help/advice needed

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MalaysianFlyer

HI, I need some advice/help regarding the TT21 OB. I recently modded mine and it was running well, then I decided to mod further removed material from the shim to get .008" headspace. However when I reassembled the engine, I found that the compression is very low when turned by hand. Is this normal for the mods I did? Or could it be that I now have got a bad seal between the sleeve and the button?

I am quite new to engine modding, so any help would be appreciated

HI, I need some advice/help regarding the TT21 OB. I recently modded mine and it was running well, then I decided to mod further removed material from the shim to get .008" headspace. However when I reassembled the engine, I found that the compression is very low when turned by hand. Is this normal for the mods I did? Or could it be that I now have got a bad seal between the sleeve and the button?

I am quite new to engine modding, so any help would be appreciated
What do you mean when you say that you removed meterial from the shim.Shims come in different thicknesses for that reason.Did you grind on the shim to thin it? :huh: If so,throw is away and install a new one.The shim is the head gasket.It must not leak.If so,you WILL loose compression.

LOL....I missed that!

Walt is right, if you removed material from the shim, that is most likely the problem.

Waltr, how's that boat coming along?

-Carl,

Last edited by a moderator:
You Guy's Just Spead Out an Give Me a Little Room :lol: :p

First off you can't get to .008 headspace in that motor unless you have cut the button in a lathe.

I've owned Way Too Many of them motors and All of them come stock with .023 H/S and

with a .010 removeable shim.

If you tried to sand or grind the stock shim down, like others have said,,