os and hot shot 3.5 wood

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ROCK STAR

Hay everyone

I am new to the hobby and had a few questions. I took the boat out for the first time today and it wouldn't go past half throttle. Note I already broke the engine in. What should the mixture and high speed settings be at and what about the hight of the motor. I am using 30 %. fuel. What about tuned pipes, i've heard the stock pipe produces alot of restrictions.

ROCK STAR

Rock

First the stock exhaust is best to get a good needle so hang in there with that.

The center of the prop should be about even with the bottoms of the sponsons.

And the needle has much to do with everything. Fuel, prop, weight of the boat and so no. But for starters CARFULLY turn the needle in and all the way and then back out about 4 turns. It should be rich and run like crap on shore but should not quit on the water. If it does then turn out some more. If it still quits your motor might need service new or not..

Grim

R.S.

I know the guy who designed the Hot Shot 3.5 Tunnel. He found the motors worked best when the center line of the prop was 3/16" - 1/4" above the sponsons.

By the motor not going past 1/2 throttle, do you mean it wasn't going fast or the barrel carb wasn't opening fully? Do you have the throttle cable attached to the black plastic bracket that mounts to the motor?

Jerry Dunlap

R.S.

I know the guy who designed the Hot Shot 3.5 Tunnel. He found the motors worked best when the center line of the prop was 3/16" - 1/4" above the sponsons.

Jerry Dunlap
HeHeHe!! ;D

Thanks for all the replies. The throttle is hooked up correctly, but like I said only run's at half throttle and when you open it right up it just stays the same. It will however idle down. Grimracer is your boat as fun to build as Jerry's?