Namba Rules for 05 Nats

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TRUCKPULL

I have a question on the NAMBA rules.

Could somebody point me to the page that talks about the Dead Boat Rules ?????

Or what the exact rules are going to be in regard to Dead Boats.

Also changing of lanes between bouy 5 and the start line.

Larry

Page 69, RACE FORMAT 2a6:All boats coming from the right turn at the start of the race will adhere to the five second rule.

Page 36, D. Clock Time 2c is referred to as the "five second rule". During the last five seconds of the mill boats passing the buoy marking the end of the mill must steer a straight course.

Nothing is stated about passing a certain buoy, but obviously if the right turn has five buoys, then after passing the last (fifth) buoy all boats must maintain a straight course...meaning staying in their own lane.

Last edited by a moderator:
The reason why the rule says coming from the right hand turn and five seconds is because that is the approach to the S/F line and the start of the race.

If you were going into the right hand turn with five seconds left to the start, you would not have to hold a lane......unless there was another boat next to you and then the standard rules of racing and holding lanes then applies.

If you are the only boat coming down for the start with 5 seconds left on the start clock, and you do not hold your "lane" whether it be a straight line or a turn, the CD should call you for a penalty. After all, the only reason you would not be holding your lane is because you are trying to scrub time off the clock to avoid a jump start.

In the NAMBA rule book, there are four turns not two. I have heard announcing in years past back east call the turns one through four. On the west coast, you will hear turn one (the left turn) and turn two (the right turn) with them being described at enter, point, and exit.