I gave up on windows!

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
T

TomMoorehouse

I know it's off topic.... but today I ditched microsoft windows xp. I think hopefully for good. I'm trying out mandrake linux 9.0 beta 1. even my windows xp install got slower and slower over time... i was fed up. the server still runs windows 2000 server but if I ever have to replace it I will mostlikely use linux..... or so is my hope. i'm going to try hard to give linux a shot.... anyone else here a linux user..... got any tips? i'm a real newbie.... played with it a couple times before but thats it.... i know nothing about command line stuff!

now if you all could semd me an email or 2 to check out if that is working i'd appreciate it!

thanks

tom

Tom, what am I gonna do with ya, :D :D :D

About a year or so ago I gave it a go here's what happened:

I tried Linux Red hat or Mandrake, the one that came with the dual boot CD with it. Put it on my last Desktop system. Fresh install with Win 95 on a dual boot, I was impressed with the speed fer shure, Linux loaded 10 times quicker than Win, however the cross compatability of programs was Zilch, my version had a Suite with it compairable to MS Office and worked great, but data would not transfer between Os's. Never took it online. The code thing is cool, but the commands were a little wicked to get used too. They might have solved this in the newer versions. I have heard that the Linux version for servers is real fast, but again dont know about the compatibility with other programs.

Hey there is a setting on XP, I am runnin it too, that sets your system up for speed rather than all the graphics intensive fluff. Did ya try that?

Gene ;D