Thunder Tiger .21 O.B. Hop Ups

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bill Deutsch

Hello All,

New to the forums here I read on rcu there was a thread here on this topic and can't find it so I am starting one. If there is another please post a link. I have been running boats for the past 2 years with some guys from my airplane club, We meet once a week and run for fun and bragging rights. The common set up is T.S. 3 or VS 1 with stock TT 21's. I am looking for ways to hop up the motor without a big expense as it's for fun. I de-tongued / Polished / Balanced prop. I also Polished / Sharpened lower unit. I was thinking of polishing the ports inside the case. I run 15% fuel Because thats what I run in the plane engines. I was thinking of cutting the muffler off and using a tuned pipe. Any thoughts or Ideas are Greatly appreciated. Also if you have pics of your O.B. please share them.

Thanks,

Bill

If you do a search you will find a lot of info on this subject. After work Ican tell you more that I have learned over the years ....

2012-06-03_21-30-17_862.jpg

Bill, I have personally found that there was not a very big performance increase in the TT OB engines when switching from 35% nitro to 66% nitro. I only seen a gain of about 1 mph. (Im usually a very big advocate for high nitro fuel in these little guys, but the TT is one platform I did not notice enough difference to warrant it)

Also, what prop do you have? If its the prather 215 that came on it, I would switch it out for an X637. That is the prop to have on the TT.

If your going to run a tuned pipe, you need to do some sleeve work, as the numbers stock are very low. Raise the timing up, have the head button cut to .17cc and drop the head clearance down to .008. Crank induction numbers are a little shy as well, but they will work stock.