New Build and Few Questions

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jeff Aylesworth

I am quite new to building. I took over an unfinished hull and feel like I have gotten pretty far along but now have a few questions I haven't been able to get answers I am clear on.

The first is water outlets, I have a two pickup rudder and have built brass lines, but wasn't sure what the best outlet location would be. I made some angled pieces to match the side of the hull but want to be sure its correct before I go making holes.
pipes1.jpgpipes2.jpg

The second is finishing the cowling and creating the nose. I have sat and looked at this for what feels like hours and just can't seem to figure out how to get the nose are correct. It also appears that quite a bit of material gets trimmed off the fiberglass bits. But wasn't sure on this either.

cowling1.jpgcowling2.jpg

And lastly, I have built/assembled my rear upright wings but apparently the brackets for the supports from RC Boat Company have been backordered for quite some time. Is there another source?

Last edited:
1. Just dump it out under the left deck over hang. This way you can see it when you make a pass on the front shut to confirm water flow.
2. I usually don't glue up this area till I start cowl mounting. It helps to line it up with cowl. I have my cowl over hangers the tub section. It is stepped backed. You should just add more material to the outside of tub area to match the cowl.
3. For uprights, I just use aluminum. Pretty sure home depot should have some that will work. If not. Online metals is a great source for small cuts.

20220213_152153.jpg20220213_152208.jpg20220213_152234.jpg20220213_152238.jpg20220213_152259.jpg
That is a titanium bulkhead doubler. Original wood one broke off in a blow over. Won't break this time.

Last edited: