Lower Unit Shapes...

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kris Flynn

Has anyone here experimented with thinning down the lower units, for less drag, cutting the Skegs down and shaping the lower more like a 'Wing' as the real ones are (I think)?

Anything at you have done to try and improve performance ffrom your stock K&B lower?

Kris

Kris,

One thing worth checking is that the prop shaft is stright compared to the fin. I have heard of them being drilled / tapped crooked and that can rob a lot of performance.

Also, don't sacrifice strength by thinning the fin down too far! A sharp leading edge is also useful.

Cheers,

Tim.

If you can endure reading it and try to skim through the vocabulary, it's alot of good information. Great find, Ian!

Jeff,

Oops, I am a mechanical engineer, I kind of forget sometimes that some of this stuff is a bit hard for many people to read! : :) Ignore the formulas, the useful stuff is in the text.

It is from the past tech papers section of rcboat.com

Ian.

Kris,

When I've broken off the lower skeg in the past I use thin but strong aluminum in the shape of an "L", works great.

That's awesome Ian, I am studying chemical engineering. I am in my 2nd year. Taking 1st semester physics right now, and I plan on taking fluid dynamics and the like next fall. I can make a little sense out of it,

Cool, bro,

Jeff

Tim, do you mean make sure it is square to the trailing edge of the fin/skeg?

It is actually for a 12 cell FE Tunnel project i am slowly wrking on...i have the lower so i am begginning to get it ready to use, even though i probably wnt have a boat ready to use (No one has seen a Villain in Aus yet have they???) suppose i will have to wait and see...