Lightening a con rod, good, bad or indifferent?

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ian Webster

Quick pic of a friends conrod, lightened to the max.... not sure if it's the 7,5 or 15cc motor (CMB). They compete in the FSR-V classes, so 20 minute heats and 30 minute finals. So, lightening the con rod, good, bad or indifferent?

Attachments

• conrod.jpg
    conrod.jpg
    92.9 KB · Views: 0
Quick pic of a friends conrod, lightened to the max.... not sure if it's the 7,5 or 15cc motor (CMB). They compete in the FSR-V classes, so 20 minute heats and 30 minute finals. So, lightening the con rod, good, bad or indifferent?
I am no engine expert, but i would not even try to run the motor,with out replacing the rod. Just my opinion. Richard D

by the looks of the cylinder in the back ground,

it is a 91 AAC (15cc).

I would NEVER run that thing unless the rod is replaces

with a new one.

I have to agree, replace the conrod before running. There are aftermarket rods made that are lighter, but not like that. I've seen rods that were sharpened on both sides or thinned slightly. They are good for a season, two if you run with lots of oil. To take out that much material is asking to see the rod shatter and go flying out the side or bottom of the case

A rod like that I wouldnt trust running that at all.KABOOM!!!Then more damage is done to your motor=more costly parts to be replaced.. These motor arent cheap and the parts are just as bad in prices too.

That engine is going to dissamble itself. It shoud be spectactular.
When you do the math (stroke length x RPM) the piston is traveling over 30 feet per second, stopping and starting, and that rod is the lever.

Spectacular is a very nice way of saying it.