O/T question

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TimD

Guys,

I just scored an air compressor. I'm a complete novice with this stuff but I am keen to learn and I'm hoping I can avoid buying the wrong stuff. I only want this for boating use and don't plan on doing autobody stuff etc.

I need to get a paint gun and I believe that a HVLP gun is the way to go. I think I would also need amoisture trap. Anyone prepared to give me some advice?

Thanks,

Tim.

Tim I'm no spray paint expert so I won't answer that.

But as a side issue to this thread I would like to start using my compressor with high speed cutting and polishing fittings for the boats. So does anyone know what is a good brand or style of air tool for this sort of thing.

Brad, For polishing hardware etc, all I do is use a stitched sizal polishing pad for a rough polish, then I change to a calico wheel for final polishing. You can buy these wheels and polishing compouns sticks at Bunning's in Mandurah (that's where I got mine). You can get different sizes I currently run one in my drill press, but will soon get the larger pair for my bench grinder, these are very simple and cheap. I originally thought of the compressor thing but didn't want to purchase anymore air tools.

Tim, I use a standard run of the mill gun with a 2mm tip for priming/clearcoats, then for colour I use a touch up gun (not sure on tip dia), I also have a pasche dual action airbrush that comes in handy. I am no painting expert by any means, but I have found for myself as long as the flows are set for the brand of paint you're spraying and you go lightly on the coats, you will have no major problems. My most expensive item was the airbrush and that was only $100 Oh yeah, I also run a moisture trap on my lines for added protection, it seems to do the job for me.

My two cents

Hope this helps

Johno