K & B 3.5 Move from 25% to 50% Nitro

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

h20ski

I'm an newbie. I have a stock K & B 3.5 motor, TS@, Octura 440 and Wildcat 20%. The boat is lots of fun and runs great.

If I want to increase the performance of the boat by running higher nitro, what types of adjustments will need to be made? I know that I'll need to reset the needle valve. Will I also need to adjust the compression ratio with 50% nito. I've tried reading up on squish bands and compression ratio's but I'm a little lost. Everything that I've done so far has been on my own and the guidance of this website. Thanks

A TS@?

If the engine is a K&B 3.5ss Gold Head, you might want to check to see if there's a head gasket. If there is, remove it and that will lower the head clearance.

Other than that, I personally think you'd be best off just to work with the hull and prop settings using the higher nitro. If you like Wildcat fuel, I'd recommend the 55% or 65%

JD

Typo Top Speed 2

The motor is an older, stock 8907. Its not a gold head
Open the needle a ton [say a turn and a half to two turns to start] and go run it and find a new needle setting.

When you go to to 60%+ you will need to go a lot richer than you are now.

If you have the tools and know how,set the head clearance at .012".

Typo Top Speed 2

The motor is an older, stock 8907. Its not a gold head
Open the needle a ton [say a turn and a half to two turns to start] and go run it and find a new needle setting.

When you go to to 60%+ you will need to go a lot richer than you are now.

If you have the tools and know how,set the head clearance at .012".
Do you know if there is a previous post or an article on the web on how to set the head clearance?

Thanks

If I am correct, you need to adjust the angle too. I had to do it on the Villain with K&Bss, just a little negative.

Ronald.