Hospitalized! Bob "Jaguar" Ferguson

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Don Ferrette

Administrator
Staff member
Admin
Supporting Member
Vendor
Fellow boaters,

Bob Ferguson the builder of Jaguar hydros and my good friend landed in the hospital after collapsing at his regular job the night before last. I spoke with Bob today after his release and he is now resting at home after a rather close brush with the limits of life. After being hospitalized and tested more times than he cares to think it has been determined that Bob had a serious and previous unknown issue with his blood sugar levels. I'm no expert on the subject and will do my best to recall all he told me (and it was a lot) but after collapsing and fading in and out of consciousness he was taken to the hospital and they found his blood sugar level was something close to 600 with that point being where a person would fall into a coma. The doctors have placed him on special meds and a very restricted protein based diet. Not only is he to avoid sugars but also starches as in one of the tests they had him eat a peanut butter sandwich (just bread and peanut butter) and he had another surge in his blood sugars. Without going into too much detail basically the doctors told him he must change his dietary lifestyle or next time he will not be so lucky and that there is no 1/2 way, do it right or wind up in a box 6 feet under. The upside is that his blood work is already way way better and the same doctors told him that in a matter of a few weeks he'd feel like a new man and that this condition explained all his previous symptoms that he kept brushing off blaming it on fatigue and being burnt out from too much shop time. Bob doesn't have a way to get online currently as his PC crashed a couple weeks back and he wanted to get past the holidays before getting a new one. He did not ask me to do this and might bust my c