Got my VS1 Brushless conversion done and LOVE it!

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mike Luszcz

Vendor
Well, as of last night, I am a new man. I have seen the future, and LOVE IT. This is my first attempt at anything brushless. I just got the boat done enough last night to take it for a spin and its so freakin cool. I have to say I love the sound of that motor better than my Nitro engines! Here is the setup. VS1 that was nitro, Turnigy 120a marine esc, UL-1 motor, Zippy Flightmax 5000 4s1p, x640 prop (didnt know where a good start was, so tryed it first!). Motor and controler and battery were all just warm to the touch after running the whole pack, so I guess that is good? The hull ran really flat, which I liked because it had not intentions of wanting to blow over. I will take it back out tonight and try it again. Suggestions always welcome as I am very new to this stuff! This is the future for sure!

DSCF2132Large.jpg

DSCF2133Large.jpg

DSCF2137Large.jpg

DSCF2136Large.jpg

DSCF2135Large.jpg

DSCF2134Large.jpg

Excellent work. The boat looks terrific and they run very well with the setup you've selected.

X442, X445, x642 may be options as well, but as you increase prop size you need to pay more attention to your runtime (shorten it) and heat. You want to get to a point where you know exactly how long to run the boat for (time each run) and how much MAH's you use from your batteries.

Try to keep battery drain to around 3500 to 3800 mah's. That gives you enough room in case you accidentally go over.

The X445 may not clear the cavitation plate, so check that first.

If you know your runtime (exactly) and how much MAH drain you had with your packs, you can easily calculate your average amp draw. That's also a good piece of info to know about your setup when you're prop tuning.

3600/runtime in seconds X amp draw (not mah, amps. 3000 mahs = 3.0 amps).