Glue recommendations

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

D-Gluck

Hello everone - I've got a newbie question.

I've just gotten into RC scale boating, and need some help with glue selections. I recently purchased a Dumas Dauntless Kit, for those of you who are not farmiliar, it a crusing yaght, all wooden 49".

I'm just getting started, gather my supplies, etc, and am not sure if I should use epoxy glue, or CA glue to assemble the hull pieces. The instructions ssays to use epoxy, but I tried a few sample peices and the epoxy didnt seem to work that well. I used the 5 min. stuff from lowes, and the instructions say its wooden friendly. Anyway the peices are 1/8 inch plywood, and have to be joined together on the seem. As you can imagine joing to 1/8 peices of plywood is not to easy.

So, should I use epoxy, or CA ?

Do I have the right epoxy?

Any recommendation on the best method of joing plywood peices?

As mentioned above I tred a few sample peices, and used clamps with paper between the clamps, and there was some paper resudue left over. This of course was going to have to be sanded, not a big deal, just a pain in the butt...

Thanks in advance....

-dg (newbie)

I like to stick things together with ca then go back and coat everything with West Systems epoxy. This strengthens the joints and water proofs everything. Five minute is not a good solution for building.

Mark

Mark - thanks for the help. I've decided to follow you suggestion. I'll tac the hull peices in place with CA, then follo-up with a coat of epoxy resin.

Thanks for the help

-dg

Use West Systems 205 hardener(Fast) with the West Systems 105 Resin. This should work great for covering the wood after it has been tacked with CA. I would only recommend 206 hardener(Slow) for large jobs that require much more setup time, such as laying up an entire fiberglass hull.