flex shaft help

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chinslip

Hi guys...newbie here again. I'm starting to order parts and I need help with the drive line components. Here's what I think I need. prop nut, prop, strut, strut bushing, flex line, 5/16 brass tube. Here's where I need help. What goes between the prop and the strut? Washer/bearing?? and where to buy? The strut bushing has one end larger and cannot be push completely out of the strut. Do I put this in from the back or front of the strut?

thanks for the help

Norm

You need a Drive dog and just leave a gap equal to the flex dia.

There are some stuts that the stuffing tube go's through the stut and you use a strut bushing.,much like the speedmaster setup. It really all depends on the type (manufacture) strut you use and they can help you.

I like SpeedMaster.

I will try and send a pic.

Tim

Hi guys...newbie here again. I'm starting to order parts and I need help with the drive line components. Here's what I think I need. prop nut, prop, strut, strut bushing, flex line, 5/16 brass tube. Here's where I need help. What goes between the prop and the strut? Washer/bearing?? and where to buy? The strut bushing has one end larger and cannot be push completely out of the strut. Do I put this in from the back or front of the strut?

thanks for the help

Norm

Last edited by a moderator:
the flared bushing goes in from the back, the brass tube/stuffing tube fits in the front of the strut a short ways. the stuffing tube & the bushing almost touch inside the strut.

thanks guys. My flared bushing when inserted into the strut from the back, sticks out the other end by about 3/8" Also, this stuffing tube from the engine back...brass or copper? I'd love to see pictures if you can post them.

Thanks again

Norm

DSC04541.JPG