Epoxy Exothermic Dangers

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

68Bud

Hey Everyone,

Today I mixed a 1 pump batch of West Systems 105/206 in a small cup like I have countless times before. Stirred the mix, then started brushing on the glue. After about 20 minutes the batch got a skin over it so I pulled the skin to the side of the cup and worked a little more with the liquid epoxy underneath. I got preoccupied with the clamping of the parts for probably 10 minutes or so and when I looked up the cup was SMOKING! My first reaction was to remove the cup from the shop, but I knew it was too hot to touch so I grabbed a pair of pliers and took it outside. After reading this thread I'm feeling pretty lucky.

http://www.thehulltr...exotherm.html#b

I never knew epoxy could catch fire! I have been building wood boats for close to 30 years and have never had this happen before.

Learned something today, just wanted to pass it on.

Scott

Last edited:
I have had it happen a number of times. Did you do full pumps from both? If so then it is time to replace the pumps as they are probably out of calibration. Or is one of the cans getting low, as you might have gotten some air instead of liquid.

Last edited:
Epoxy can catch fire quite easily. It can be such a hazard that, when I was working for US Marine in Arlington WA, they actually held training on what to do if epoxy did catch fire. Since the plant I worked at produced $500,000+ yatchs, one going up in smoke could potentially cost the company several million dollars if one did catch fire and spread to other boats or, for that matter, the buildings themselves