Best FE Setup for 1/8th Scale

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ken Smith

Hello again. I'm a bit new to the FE option. I was wondering if someone could layout the best setup for an 1/8th scale? ESC, Motor, and lipos. Looking to get it under the $400 mark if possible. It seems electric is now a viable option to nitro. Thanks :)

Hello again. I'm a bit new to the FE option. I was wondering if someone could layout the best setup for an 1/8th scale? ESC, Motor, and lipos. Looking to get it under the $400 mark if possible. It seems electric is now a viable option to nitro. Thanks :)
I'm my opinion I would go with a Neu 1527 1.5Y on 10S1P 45C 5000mah Hyperion packs. But that right there with KO your $400 before you even buy the ESC. The U-7 I'm doing will be powered this way.

Hey Don,

Thanks for the quick reply. I've seen the Neu 1527 1.5Y floated around a bit. Where would be the best place to buy? I was kinda thinking it would be beyond my budget. May have to piece it out over time. Saw your Valken thread. Very nice :)

Don, I'm curious. Is there a specific reason as to why that particular motor is so popular? You're not the first one that I've seen use it in a scale boat and was wondering why

Don, I'm curious. Is there a specific reason as to why that particular motor is so popular? You're not the first one that I've seen use it in a scale boat and was wondering why
Back a few years ago when I was asked what would be an appropriate Neu motor to compete against the Pletts and Lehners people were running, the 1527/1.5Y was best balance of weight/power/price. Turned out to be a very reliable power option for the .67 nitro size boats. Works great on 8S as well, just turns a bigger prop.

Another option would be the Scorpion HK4035-800 on 8S. It makes a nitro to FE conversion motor because of it's size and the fact that works well in an open environment.

Don,