3 blade prop Vs. 2 blade prop

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brandon Atwell

Lets have all you prop experts chime in.

Whats the benefits of 3 bladed props compared to 2 bladed props. or 2 bladed prop benefits compared to 3 bladed. I asked my dad and brother, but they didnt know for sure, but knowing IW, there's someone bound to be able to give a good explanation.

Thanks,

Brandon

I've read the other 3 blade, 2 blade post, but i was wanting more explanation, like how well they perform on tunnel hulls, and what are the best props, how you could go about cutting one etc. Not exactly looking for one, just a mental note.

Last edited by a moderator:
I'm no expert, But i've always prefered 3 blade over 2 blade- Sometimes one cannot find a 3 Blade in the pitch/diameter they desire. It would be best if you tell the folks on this forum exactly what boat/motor you are running. I think you will get more accurate feedback.

Glenn

I'm no expert, But i've always prefered 3 blade over 2 blade- Sometimes one cannot find a 3 Blade in the pitch/diameter they desire. It would be best if you tell the folks on this forum exactly what boat/motor you are running. I think you will get more accurate feedback.

Glenn
Thanks, i did not think about that.

The motor is a Novarossi .46 and a Hornet tunnel. With a K&B lower unit.

also, a lynx and O.S. combination.

Thank you Glenn,

Brandon.

2 bladed props always gave more top end, boat gets squirrely in the turns when top end is too high...good for low boat count/smooth water

3 bladed prop had slightly lower top end, but the boat handled better...great for 6 boat heats wen the water gets chopped up with holes everywhere