ZENOAH TUNING

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

h20ski

I picked up a used cat with a 260 mod motor. The motor is giving me trouble. When first starting off, the boat gets on plane but only does about 25 mph. If I back off the throttle, it will start to pick up and get on the pipe. When I'm driving it I'm going back an forth between full and feathering the throttle to keep it going.

This is my first gas boat so I'm still learning but to me its getting way too much gas. Should I be checking both high and low adjustments, high only or what else should I consider

Thanks

Jim

what carb number is it, 644, 257, does it have a primer bulb on it , now, check the butterfly and see if it is loose, when you start the motor, does the motor rev high or does it chock,gagle fart spit, trying to get to full throttle. ok, on the 644 the high end needle should be 1 1/2 out and the low end is 1 out. can you show some pictures of the motor.

I picked up a used cat with a 260 mod motor. The motor is giving me trouble. When first starting off, the boat gets on plane but only does about 25 mph. If I back off the throttle, it will start to pick up and get on the pipe. When I'm driving it I'm going back an forth between full and feathering the throttle to keep it going.

This is my first gas boat so I'm still learning but to me its getting way too much gas. Should I be checking both high and low adjustments, high only or what else should I consider

Thanks

Jim

Thanks

Jim
The carb is a 257. It starts fine and will rev up fine when the throttle is blipped out of the water.

Jim

As a base line starting point on the WT-257 carbs, I personally use the following:

Low 2 1/4 turn

High 7/8 - 1 turn

This generally gets me in the ball park every time, then it is only minor tweaks here and there for pipe/prop etc etc. Give that a go.