Villain design...

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
G

ggillman

Mike,

I know you used to run Sprints and Leecraft hulls, How did you come up with the design for the Villain?

Gene ;D

Hea Gener and gang

This is a way cool site dont you think! Thanks Tom.. I feel that this will bring tunnel boat design and tuning to a new level. Lets get those posts rocking..

Gener

The Villain S1 came from many ideas that were floating around in my head. Ask Big B, he will tell you that I think off the wall and sometimes he says that Im crazy.. what did you say,,, if I take a cast lower unit and,, you have to be kidding,, Im trying to post a message,,,, dam voices!!

Anyway.. I started by setting a goal to run 40 with a stock tunnel using a water cooled K+B motor.. This was in 1997. I had been racing for a few years but never thought much about boat design. I had designed model airplanes for years but not boats. I got this speed I wanted using a hotshot sprint. The next year I took the boat and ran it across a table saw and cut the sponsons off. I did not like the way the boat would pitch up so high to run fast. I glued some plates on the inside of the center and built a new set of sponsons for the boat without any rocker. I attached the sponsons with servo tape and used the boat for a test bed. Test and change, test and change. Build more sponsons and test and change again. If i saw a tunnel for sale I would buy it to look at the way it was designed. I bought quite a few.. Kits, built, glass, you name it.

The boat ran good so to the races I went..

I went to a race here in WI and got my you know what handed to me by a big guy buy the name of Todd Tribbit. This guy was fast, real fast. He had a SS powered stretched hot shot.