Trident Gas Outboard

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Not much response so I take it not much experience out there with the Trident. But now it's on it's way anyhow, so guess I'll find out if the hull is any good, LOL. Came with a MHZ Z-drive leg as well.

I like the inside step but I think it will still need some ride pads so it doesn't hook around the corners. Let me know how the hull does. Thanks

I like the inside step but I think it will still need some ride pads so it doesn't hook around the corners. Let me know how the hull does. Thanks
Thanks for the input. Could you elaborate a little what you mean by ride pads? I'm a noob in the tunnel hull world
default_wink.png

Bruce,

I thought the same thing until I looked at the sponson deadrise or dehydral. They are basically flat to maybe 2-3 degrees max. This would be in-line with a full size tunnel style that makes what I call "hook" single buoy turns instead of "sweeping" multi-buoy turns like we make in RC Boat Racing. This type of hull design would typically not need auxiliary stumble pads as "bite" in the turns is minimal anyway. If the deadrise angle is increased to what we typically see on racing designed tunnels, (6-9 degrees deadrise), then the stumble pads would be helpful to limit the "bite" to what is needed for that particular design to keep the hull from tripping in the turns. This design also looks to have a flat sponson design bow to stern with basically zero rocker more typical of a catamaran design instead of a tunnel hull. It would be very interesting to watch a full speed video of this hull on the water and in the turns.

Last edited by a moderator: