torn rotater cuff

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bob miller

got the bad news today , my shoulder pain is a torn rotator cuff , not sure how i did it, i always sleep on my left side , maybe that did it , how long will recovery take ?....thanks....bob

My dad tore his, and was told it would not heal completely without surgery. He went to physical therapy for a few months which lessened the pain, and now just lives with the rest of the pain. His has been torn for over 2 years now. Now, I dont know how bad yours is torn, but his was torn very badly. He fell off the top rung on a 10 ft ladder when it broke, and landed square on his shoulder.

Last edited by a moderator:
I was off 3 months,keep taking your meds and do exactly what the rehab folks tell you to do. Im a mechanic and have full movement but know a lot of guys that cant raise there arm over there head. I can tell you I was in pain for over 2 months but when I went back to work it went back to normal quickly

My dad tore his, and was told it would not heal completely without surgery. He went to physical therapy for a few months which lessened the pain, and now just lives with the rest of the pain. His has been torn for over 2 years now. Now, I dont know how bad yours is torn, but his was torn very badly. He fell off the top rung on a 10 ft ladder when it broke, and landed square on his shoulder.
at this time i don't how bad the tear is , i will be getting a mri soon , my range of movement is about a 1/3 of normal range....l ooks like my boating season is over before it began...bob

I was off 3 months,keep taking your meds and do exactly what the rehab folks tell you to do. Im a mechanic and have full movement but know a lot of guys that cant raise there arm over there head. I can tell you I was in pain for over 2 months but when I went back to work it went back to normal quickly