Tin Tanks

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tony Newland

I think I'm going to make a few tin tanks for our 12G's and looking for some insight on what to use...... any advice?

I'm studying the KEP drawings on the baffle systems and will employ most of them

Join Metimeproductions and they have a video on there about making a tank for this boat. This will give you all the info you will need. Hope this helps. Ryon Shaw

Join Metimeproductions and they have a video on there about making a tank for this boat. This will give you all the info you will need. Hope this helps. Ryon Shaw
If you can work with stainless steel, it will save you the problem of getting rust in the tanks. Richard D

Some info that might be worth sharing.

As we know the fuel we use draws moisture from the air.. we are boaters so we have lots of moisture everyplace.

A SS tank is not a bad idea BUT the first thing to fail on a fuel tank will always be the brass tubing.

Typically a tin tank costs less to build and is just as strong as a SS one. Its also a bunch easer to solder for the new tank builder dude!

One can use tin with complete confidence as long as you empty the tank after you are done running for the day and use some WD-40 (or whatever) to wipe the tank down with after the day is done. One would do this with SS anyway.

To me.. I have yet to find the "REAL" advantage of SS over tin..

I have a tin tank that I still use now that’s going on its 9th summer of racing.. At 3 dollars worth of parts and some time.. it does not owe me a darn thing.

Grim

If you can work with stainless steel, it will save you the problem of getting rust in the tanks. Richard D
Does tin corrode easily?