Square Drive Collets

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Marty,

I ordered 4 from Marine specialties. They did not show a picture.I will email you when they get here. I have one for the 21 Road Runner I am building. The ones I ordered were for parts.

EC-SDA4-6 Square Drive Adapter, for 1/4"-28 thread X 3/16" square cable 4 $11.99

I will be curious to see what u think of it Marty

It is one of those things people swear it helps but if u look at saw boats most don't use it

If it was that good I would think it would be almost mandatory

I will be curious to see what u think of it Marty

It is one of those things people swear it helps but if u look at saw boats most don't use it

If it was that good I would think it would be almost mandatory
Chris:

I have been using the Square Drive for many years. I just had run out of collets and wanted another for my second engine. I guess I have given away my spares to friends???

I love square drive for my 20 boats and will continue to use that system in the future.

I will ask the same question,but I am looking for a square drive to convert a CMB .45 for and outboard.

so does anybody know who makes a 1/4-28 to .187 square drive cable this will all attach to a K&B lower.

Dumas Model used to supply them but no longer have the square drive just the round cable.

thanks Greg

Marty

Have you ever done back to back test to see if there is a mph difference ?
No

Also I have not done any tests for oilers vs grease. I still use Mercury lube rather than an oiler.

Would be interested in other findings on both if it is as you say "back to back" tests. I would be surprised if anyone has done such tests.

Last edited by a moderator:
to be honest. on the oil vs grease.. even if there wasnt any difference.. i would NEVER EVER use grease again.. i will say my shafts look way way better with oil than grease ever did.. specially the stubs