Sport 40 transom mounted strut

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Greg Bonahoom

Supporting Member
What is the final verdict on the new rule change after almost a full season of racing? Do I need to mount my strut on the transom to compete at the big races? Did the sport 40 winner at Hobart have his strut on the transom or mounted underneath? I am new to the class and my strut is mounted underneath. The boat corners like it is on rails. (Phil Thomas hull) I don't want to mess with it if I don't have to.

Dont change or worry about your setup.

Seems to me on my SSP45 the rear strut put too much load on the prop at launch and at speed it made the boat just act funny, spin or get real flightyat times. Steve Petersen boat setup with rear strut mad his boat stuff when it crossed a wake, didnt last two heats that way and he had it under the boat.

Now the ML boat may like it or some other designs that consider the extra length the rear strut gives the afterplane it should work ok

How much of a different setup do you think it would require to work on your hull Phil. Moving the motor back or forward.

The guys up in Canada should have a good answer for you. They seem to like it but I agree that my PT runs on rails with in under the boat. Phil's boats run great with it under. Thanks Phil

How much of a different setup do you think it would require to work on your hull Phil. Moving the motor back or forward.
Well I dont think the motor position would change much. Im sure my boat would work with the rear strut, many have been setup for FE with the strut on the back, one even went over 100mph, but that just in a straight line. i really didnt give it much testing was having motor problems too.