Prop info

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chriscrash

Supporting Member
I am new to model boating and I am trying to understand prop differences. My sport 40 is recommended to use a 1455 prop. But while trying to study the octura prop chart, I noticed there is no difference in the dimensions and the material of construction between the 1455 and the x455. Can anyone tell me the difference?

chriscrash said:
I am new to model boating and I am trying to understand prop differences.  My sport 40 is recommended to use a 1455 prop.  But while trying to study the octura prop chart, I noticed there is no difference in the dimensions and the material of construction between the 1455 and the x455.  Can anyone tell me the difference?
107072[/snapback]

The x series props produce a lot less lift and are better suited to monos and cats. The 14xx props are lifting props suitable for riggers and hydros. In general a 14xx prop will work on the boat it will be faster than the equivalent x prop.

Brian MAhoney said:
chriscrash said:
I am new to model boating and I am trying to understand prop differences.  My sport 40 is recommended to use a 1455 prop.  But while trying to study the octura prop chart, I noticed there is no difference in the dimensions and the material of construction between the 1455 and the x455.  Can anyone tell me the difference?
107072[/snapback]

The x series props produce a lot less lift and are better suited to monos and cats. The 14xx props are lifting props suitable for riggers and hydros. In general a 14xx prop will work on the boat it will be faster than the equivalent x prop.

107101[/snapback]

If you are running a Phil Thomas sport 40 a stock 1455 will hop,better to start with a stock x450 unless you can find someone with a mod 1455........Mikey