Pistolero questions

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

crashnburn

Let me start by saying I'm new to the world of boats. I have just bought a Pistolero 40 with an OS 46 VXM, with a 65 quiet pipe. Came with a X452/3 and a X457/3 prop. Does anyone have any tips, suggestions or ideas on this hull? What would be a good setup or place to start? Books or manuals even? There are no clubs near me so I'm on my own right now trying to figure this out. I might be asking for alot but any help would be appreciated.

Last edited by a moderator:
I had better luck using a X-447 3 blade prop and a modified 450 2 blade that was slightly cut down. The X-452 you have may work but no way will the 457, that's more for a .65-.67 size engine.

Make sure to keep the cable well greased, the radio box sealed really well so no water gets in. The Pistelro will get water in the hull during turns so it can get into the radio box if it's not sealed well enough w/water proof radio box tape.

Can you give us a little more info on what the boat is doing in the turns to take on water? IE Rocking up on its side? Plowing the nose?

Scott

way to much prop try an octura x450 2 or 3 blade an auto bailer would be a good idea if you cant find the leak run the pipe from the exhaust flange to the high poit of the pipe at 9 5/8 inches.

Can you give us a little more info on what the boat is doing in the turns to take on water? IE Rocking up on its side? Plowing the nose?

Scott
Actually Scott, I was just replying to rcboats2 comment about Pistoleros taking on water during turns...I have'nt run the boat yet. I'm trying to get some idea on what to expect from this hull when that day does come....hopefully soon.