Outboard rules and class ideas needed

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bob Kensill

I have been appointed as National Outboard Director for IMPBA (I held this position from 1986 through1998) and would like some input from racers, and non-racers, on the current rules and classes for outboards. What would you like to see changed, and how? What would you like to see added or removed, as far as rules and classes go? What do you personally like or dislike. My intent is to help make racing more fun, more competitive and more affordable. I would like to make some guidelines for new rules and classes that are easy to read, understand and follow. I welcome posts here, PMs or email ([email protected]) thanks

Bob Kensill

Bear with me here . I am new to the hobbie. How about a dead stock class using a kneeldown hydro like ML Boatworks make with OS outboard..Using the OS everyone would have the same motor.Easy to purchase whole motor. Run it exactly like it comes from manufacture. Changing nothing. same powerhead,same lower uniy same exh manifold and pipe supplied by manufacture.Only thing you can change is prop.. You have to have great starts, great setups, and great props. It will be very competative because everyone will be on the same level. Just like APBA stock outboard. Great for beginners. One boat and NO TOUCH motor. What do you say? This isnt about speed. It is about being on the same racing level. You have to earn it.!!!

A few years ago when I got started in the hobby. I felt that sport tunnel was confusing. As I understood in NAMBA, you can not touch the motor. In IMPBA, you can make any mods internally. I just felt as a lot of people start out in sport tunnel it would be more competitive if the motor must remain untouched. With the exception of the prop.

TL

This is going to open up a can of worms.