OPS .67 Engine setup

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AaronWilson

Hello everyone,

I am brand new to this hobby. About twenty years ago my dad and I started a 1/8th scale Pay n Pak dumas hydroplane kit. It got set aside in the closet until a few years ago when I picked it up with the idea of finishing our twenty year old project.

I have bought an OPS .67 engine to power this thing. Unfortunately, I am having trouble finding information on the engine. I am hoping to know the factory settings for the screws and the proper path for the water cooling. Sorry that these are such basic questions, but I have been all over the net and have failed to find answers. If there are diagrams available somewhere I would be eager to see them.

Thanks so much for any help you can provide.

Kind regards,

-Aaron Wilson

Start with the needle 3 1/2 to 4 turns out. If this is a new motor let it run rich for a few tanks. Motor should burble when it runs and not scream. When motor has some run time on it you can start to lean it by turning the needle in. When set properly the motor will stumble for a second or 2 then rev when the carb is wide open. Get a good pipe and set it at about 11 1/2 to 12" to the start of the widest diameter from the plug or centre of the cylinder along the pipe length. If you are cooling the exhaust, go through the top fitting then out the bottom then to the head and out. Find a local club fellow boaterhere on IW or post where you live and get with some fellow boaters as it is always better to run with others and they can provide lots of help and information. You will also meet some of the nicest people in the world!!

Brad