Newbie in need of advice

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fuzzchucker

I'm a newbie to RC boating so you'll have to excuse me if I don't get the lingo right.

I'm from South Africa and I fly RC gliders for a hobby but have just laid my hands on a brand new, never run, K&B 11cc outboard. Even though I've never been into RC boats, or nitro engines for that matter, I just couldn't let it go for the price the guy was asking :D (+- $80 if you convert from our local currency).

What size / type boat can I stick on the front of this beast. I have a fibreglass hull (shallow vee I think is the right term) that's been lying in mothballs for a couple of years, 1metre in length and 350mm wide. It seems structurally sound but needs a little TLC. Will this do for starters? It looks kinda dwarfed by the motor.

Alternatively I can build a new hull from scratch. I like the looks of the tunnel hulls and hydros. Having built a couple of gliders already I sorta know my way around the materials like ply, balsa, foam and fibreglass. So complexity of construction shouldn't be a problem. Are there any worthwhile downloadable plans on the internet somewhere?

Are there any South Africans on this forum that can direct me to a local club for hands on advise?

Cheers,

Izak

Well, your probably right about the boat being dwarfed by that engine. Best performance would come from a tunnel for obvious reasons. A cat or a mono would also be sufficient. I'd suggest not going less than 33 inches in length, even that is short but at that length you can balance things out with weights. ebay has a variety of cheap priced hulls to go with your motor.

Thanks Big Daddy. Probably showing my ignorance here but are you saying that at 33 inches a tunnel hull is more stable than the mono at 1metre (39 inches)?