New to the game in MI

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

elmozracing

Hey guys, I am new to boating but not nitro. I have had a about 3 nitro cars/trucks that were a lot of fun, but recently bought a house on a lake here in south-east Michigan with no more pavement, and my most prized car was stolen during a break in. So with summer coming and a bit of nitro experience, I have decided to buy my first boat. I am waiting for "Brown Santa" to show up anyday now and I can't wait. In the meantime I have been trying to do as much research as possible and still have a few questions I am hoping you guys can answer. First the prop., should I go brass or metal, is there a difference. Should I go 2 or 3 blade? And, can you buy them balanced and sharpened? If so where? I suppose I should give the specs on my boat so I can get some real answers. I know that it may be a little too much for it being my first boat(opinions), but I am experienced with nitro and that's just the kind of guy I am, I race cars (real ones) for fun. Anyway, I bought a 42" Dumas Scarab 377 Limited Edition with a K & B 7.5. All of the hardware is installed. Tuned pipe, trim tabs, etc.... I am pleased with the looks, brand new paint, candy purple on top, neon green on the bottom. I am just curious to what people opinion are on this setup. How durable are theses engins and how do they perform? It seems like the only performance mods I can get are the prop. and port the head. Where can I get that done at? Anyone's criticism is worth hearing, positive or negative. Thanks for the advice. Oh yea, here are a couple of pics too.

hey there

firstly i don't what to sound cruel but before you start trying to mod the boat just go out and learn to drive it and race than try to mod and change every thing on it till you get a good set up .

a set up for "jim's "boat is good for "jim" but it may not work for you.