needing advice on first time paint job

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

James Schmidt

I am building a Blazer marine sport 20 kit. the boat is wood. what are the steps from start ( Bare Wood) to finish. what is mass epoxy? what is it for? will base coat clear coat auto paint stand up to 60% nitro, or should I use Klass Kote. this is my first time painting an rc boat since all my other boats are Fiberglass.

Thanks

Jim

Everybody has there own way of doing it .I like to use West system to do the finish. Mas is great also. I have used both.At least 2 coats of epoxy and then clear with 2 part urethane clear and you are good..

OK, Sounds good. I plan on painting the hull, and not having any wood grain showing through finish. I've seen some threads in here talking about primer. dose the epoxy resin take place or primer. is 206 hardener from west? Who sells 206 hardener? is the epoxy resin a base coat that I can paint over? is the 2 part urethane from west as well?

Okay, I see where you are confused with the hardeners so I'll see if I can clear things up for you:

105: This is West Systems base resin. Everything else is mixed with this

205: West Systems fastest setting hardener, used when working time isn't an issue or in cool areas.

206: West Systems medium set hardener, used when a bit of working time is needed and in warmer conditions

207: West Systems hardener formulated for coating and fiberglassing. While it works for bonding, it's not as good as the others

209: West Systems slow set hardener, used in warmest conditions or when additional working time is needed

400 series are additives that are mixed with the resin and whichever hardener being used. They are used for added strength, thickening and to use the epoxy as a filler.

Last edited by a moderator: