Miss Supertest?

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
terry,

i'm no expert but basically all of the boats in the newton no. 106 list make the staudacher 30 ft dropped sponson boat. 106 M is essentially the paint / cowl sheet for the supertest. all are beautiful boats , imo.

use the master hull roster hull number listed for the specific newton plan and check m.h.r. hull list to see all of the boats that plan makes. the m.h.r. can be found on the NAMBA.ORG and PNWTA.ORG websites.

you can check with david newton but i think most of the bulkhead and template sheets are same for the 106 plans listed. use photographs of the specific boat you're interested in to verify minor details. generally, the variations are the cockpit cowl height, shape, firewall and tail fin shape.

the sponson drop dimension and sponson deck / top rear edge sweep are different on some boats too. this is where the template sheets might vary but it will be very minor.

another feature of the 106 hulls is the shovel nose pointed bow rather than a true round bow.

btw, i think there was a conventional decked supertest and a dropped sponson supertest. can't remember which newton number corresponds to the conventional decked boat.

see the following websites :

hydroartprints.com

newtonmarine smugmug.com galleries

jim clark photography

e-rcu.org

electricthunder.org

thunderboat.org

chris denslow smugmug.com galleries

leslie fields hydro history

unlimiteds detroit photo archives

craftmasters models

Terry I have a master hull roster of newton plans and you can get 20 raced hulls out of the 106.

Will call you later.

Have a buddy that's reserecting his "Miss Supertest II" but it was built from plans other than plan 106M for that hull, possibly the 102E "Atlas Van Lines".
Any idea what other popular hulls can be built from the 106M plan sheet?

Here's Newton's link: