K&B 3.5 SX question

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

racer504

I'm new to boating and recently acquired a new K&B 3.5 SX. The motor is installed on a Top Speed 2. My question concerns the prop shaft bearing assy. Seems that after just a few runs (6-8) the bearing has become loose allowing the prop shaft to be very sloppy. I was using the recomended oil/STP mix to lube the bearing. I started with a Prather 220 prop but couldn't get any speed so I went to an Octura 440 (I think) Went a lot better with the 440 (sharpened/balanced/polished)prop but when I was cleaning it up I noticed the prop shaft was wobbly. I guess I'll need to order another prop shaft assy but I would like to know how to prevent this in the future. Also what is a good prop for this combination? It still seems like it should be turning up somewhat better than it sounds. What are some of the other guys running on this combination? Any suggestions appreciated. Mike

If you are sure the prop is properly balancd, then your best bet would be to get a prop shaft assembly from www.grimracer.com

Or Brian Nelson on this forum also makes a replacement hub.

Kris

Mike,

The X-440 is just a little too big in diameter and just a little too much cup

for your set up. If you reduce both the boat and motor will be a lot happier.

38.50mm and 3.21" to 3.46" of cup is plenty for a tunnel hull. :D Oh, I forgot

to tell you the 220 is a great propeller, it just needs a little more work also.

The 220 likes a trailing edge backcut (3 mm) and then the propeller can run real

well.

Good Luck,

Mark Sholund

Last edited by a moderator:
Actually I make the prop shafts Grim Racer sells. Grim is the USA distributor so contact him for the propshaft assembly. It will out last the factory unit even if you never lube it.