I screwed up! How Do I Fix It?

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I have been cleaning and oiling my motors for 5 or 6 years with a method that is a little different. But I have made the bearing last for the whole time and I never have rusted bolts, this is what I do:

I got 2 one gallon paint cans from the hardware store that were empty and new.

I filled 3/4 full one with white gas and a little ATF(Colman stove fuel/kerosene) the other with Automatic transmission fluid.

after I am done for the day and I have came back to the shop I pull all the motors ran and take out the glow pugs. then one at a time I submerge the motor in the kerosene and turn it over for a short period, then drain the motor.

Next I submurge the motor in the ATF turn it over and leave it for at least 24 hours some times a week. I stack several motors on top of each other. Then pull them out of the ATF one at a time and Rotate the crank shaft and drain the motor. then I wrap in paper towel and put in a plastic bag. The next time I use the motors they start right up and run great.

This process keeps my motors like new. I never have rusted bolts. I never have bearings go out. this works great. Try it you will like the result.

I pickle my motors after each race by first flushing them with ATF & WD40 including the water jacket. I turn them over by hand to drain the oil then spray them CorrosionX HD or T-9. I then wrap them in a paper towel and vacum bag them with my wife's FoodSaver. This gets the air out of the motor and helps prevent any rusting.