Good Prop for a JAE .45??

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nick Beining

I am currently building a Jae .45. It is going to have a K&B .40 as the powerhouse with a mac pipe. I am fairly new to riggers and wanted to know what a good prop would be. The engine is already broke in and runs great. Any help would be appreciated!

1457, 1460, 1655 would be good ones to start with. If you want just 2, choose the 1457 and 1655.

1457, 1460, 1655 would be good ones to start with. If you want just 2, choose the 1457 and 1655.
I havent ventured into the 3 blade prop world yet. What is the advantage of a 3 blade??
Stick with the two blade Nick. In most cases, there are no advantages of a 3 blade on a rigger, especially a JAE. Start with a 1457, Im not sure what else your K&B can pull past that. Is it a K&B 45 or a K&B 40 Sportster(side exhaust)?

Jr.

I havent ventured into the 3 blade prop world yet. What is the advantage of a 3 blade??
Stick with the two blade Nick. In most cases, there are no advantages of a 3 blade on a rigger, especially a JAE. Start with a 1457, Im not sure what else your K&B can pull past that. Is it a K&B 45 or a K&B 40 Sportster(side exhaust)?

Jr.

It is a K&B 40 with the side exhaust.

Jr.

It is a K&B 40 with the side exhaust.

Nick,

A 1455 would be a good place to start with a K&B 40 motor.

The H-18 or 1457 would be the next step up for you.

Thanks,

Mark Sholund

Last edited by a moderator:
I am currently building a Jae .45. It is going to have a K&B .40 as the powerhouse with a mac pipe. I am fairly new to riggers and wanted to know what a good prop would be. The engine is already broke in and runs great. Any help would be appreciated!
Mine turns a 1657 behind a new Picco like it's not there,going to go to a 1662 this spring.Motor not broke in and mac pipe not tuned in and got 70.2 mph on gps.