glass skin vs ply

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chinslip

Hi guys, newbie here again. I have a question concerning deck skin material. From what I here, most people are using a 1/16 ply for all upper surfaces. My question is would it be better to use a fiberglass skin? Lighter and/or stronger. I was thinking of making some glass sheets then covering the deck with it. The glass sheets would be made by using a large perfectly flat surface like a large mirror (or something like this.) then covering this with some wax paper...then laying 1 or 2 layers of fiberglass cloth over the wax paper then epoxy the cloth. The wax paper will peal off very easily after the epoxy has set and the mirror will create a perfect flat surface. Then fit and trim the epoxy on the boat. I have tried this with a small leftover cloth and epoxy and turned out perfect. What do you guys think? Lighter? Stronger?

thanks

Norm

Hi guys, newbie here again. I have a question concerning deck skin material. From what I here, most people are using a 1/16 ply for all upper surfaces. My question is would it be better to use a fiberglass skin? Lighter and/or stronger. I was thinking of making some glass sheets then covering the deck with it. The glass sheets would be made by using a large perfectly flat surface like a large mirror (or something like this.) then covering this with some wax paper...then laying 1 or 2 layers of fiberglass cloth over the wax paper then epoxy the cloth. The wax paper will peal off very easily after the epoxy has set and the mirror will create a perfect flat surface. Then fit and trim the epoxy on the boat. I have tried this with a small leftover cloth and epoxy and turned out perfect. What do you guys think? Lighter? Stronger?

thanks

Norm