FE rigger motor size and considerations

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dan_Cousin

I'm thinking of puting together a FE rigger to mess around with. I'd like it to push a small (say .12 sized) rigger in the 50mph range.

This will not be for racing, just for goffing around when I don't feel like messing around with the fast boats.

What kind of DC motor should I be looking for. I assume 12 cells is required.

I've been building and nitro riggers for a long time so the boat can be built for what ever is required. I'm also an electrical engineer with experience with brushless DC motor controller electronics so bacis electronics are well understood.

3/16" shaft too much I suppose. 1/8 shaft more appropriate? I saw the FE guys at the last Houston race used wire drives. Looks like 1/16" music wire.

Any special radio requirments? I have an older AM radio, is that a definate no go?

props?

Thanks for asking this one Dan, I have a little blazin .12 rigger here that would love to get an electric conversion! Im interested to see what is sugested

dave

Hey Dan and Dave,

I would say a good setup would be something in the range of an 8XL motor (hacker, feiago, nemesis) 12 cells, say 3700's would be good enough. As for Prop a X640 to X642 should do pretty good (not sure what lifting props would be any good) According to FECalc an X642 should be around 70 amps and 50MPH

A Hacker 77 is a good option for the controller, or you can give a Castle Creations Barra 125 a go

I'm sure Jay Turner will probably jump in here and give a bit better details.

Kris