Engine Question

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CharlieA

Hello All, I am just a newbie at this and have a couple questions. I picked up a older Prather Lap Cat I with a K&B 3.5 OB on E-Bay. I also purchased a new fuel tank for the boat and cleaned up and lubed the engine/carb(gold)/lower unit, and got the engine started. It seems to run fine and I adjusted the needle so that when I give it throttle it would just start to gurgle rich then I closed the needle about 1/4 turn, I figured this would work and not be too lean. When I get the boat on the water with a full tank of gas it seems to run fine, but soon loses power and I will throttle back to keep it from dying. Then it will throttle up ok for just a short time and do the same thing. I am thinking this is a fuel draw problem? The tank is new and I don't see any air leaks anywhere, there really is not much room in the boat for raising the tank any. Any suggestions, would a fuel cell work better? Am I overlooking something ? Can I use some sort of fuel pump such as a Perry Pump? Yes the pressure valve is connected to the exhaust, in fact I have 2 engines and one of them has a tuned pipe that I tried also, but same thing happens. Any suggestions would be appreciated Thanks :)