Drawing up "accurate" plans... need some info

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sean

Hello everyone,

I am a CAD designer and engineer in western Wisconsin and a few years ago I purchased a set of plans from Roger Newton of Newton Marine. Awsome guy, great attention to detail, very helpful... so I don't want anyone to think that is where I am going with this. Anyway, I recently pulled the plans and started drawing them up in Solidworks 2k5. What I found was kind of disappointing... nothing really fit "well". So now I am modifying the original plans to make a set of prints that truely can be cut out and assembled. The idea is to minimize on the sanding and massaging of pieces for a good fit. Or better yet to be able to send the files to someone with a CNC router table and have them all cut out. The plans tranfer over relatively easily and it saves a lot of frustration down the road. What I am offering to those willing to assist me in my quest for good working drawings is a free copy of the final drawings. Here is what I have so far... I present the "Digital" Miss Budweiser 2001.

hydroplane_assembly.jpg

Oh, and Roger, if you are around... I will be sending you a set also, if nothing else so you can see what changes I made. It is the least I can do for someone as helpful as you have been.

Sean

Last edited by a moderator:
I know how the plans are Roger has a lot of plan sets and I have used several.

many of the slots for the stringers will not be drawn correcty I usually have to draw the bulk heads out agian using a centerline and redo the bulkheads so it all lines up.

Hi Phil,