Bench lathe

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Ive been using my micromark for several years--right out the box the saddle adjusting plates were warped and one was actually cracked--the plates are junk--I bought a brass plate (not cheap) and had a set milled and instead of using adjusting screws I shim them (yes its a pain but its accurate across the entire plate this way) I just tore the machine down 2 weeks ago to clean it and adjust it --the brass plates had little to no wear--the stock tool post dont cut it so expect to buy a quick change tool post -I bought one from A2Z CNC cost about 100$ and has had zero problems, replace the tail stock chuck with a good one the one they come with are cheap - once you knock some Chinese out of them they are good machines ive had mine for around 4-5 years now--Its a good size for my needs

Another option would be a lathe from Sherline. While it's not as big as the Micromark Lathe, it's good to go right out of the box. They actually sell two versions, a 3.5X8 and 3.5X17. Here's the website so you can look: http://sherline.com/tools.htm

Go to www.grizzly.com and you will fine what you are looking for.I have a 10x22 and love it.

Dave Roach

Last edited by a moderator:
Don't overlook used lathes. They often come with tooling. You will spend as much for tooling as the lathe. What size things do you work on? Hobby size lathes are only good for tiny parts. If you have the room consider at least a 9 or 10 inch swing.

Lohring Miller

Try Taig in your search engine. Had one yrs. ago. Not fancy but good. Hobby Lobby hobbies use to stock them or just go direct to the manuf. Sometimes they have some specials. I just checked Taig's site and they have some specials running with free shipping. S/B able to get a rig for $500 or less with accessories.