40" Youngblood rigger

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rocky

Does anyone have any experiance with a youngblood rigger. The tub is 40 inches long. I will be triing to run a CMB 1.00 cube in it. I have some guys saying that this hull design was prone to either spinning out and even nose diving into the corner. I am a newbie and just wondered if anyone has any set-up notes from this older hull. Take a look at the pictures and any info would be a big help.

Thanks

Rocky

youngblood_boat_001.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Rocky;

i used to run these boats quite a while back when Jim Youngblood was makeing them for Tidewater.

first thing is find out how far the sponsons slide into the main boom tubes.

then take teh left one out and re-install it aprox. 5/8" into the boom tube and tape it into position.

next make and punch 2 dots on each of the main boom tubes so that the marks (when you drill and tap for 8-32 socket head bolts) will be located to include the portion of the sponson tubes you slid into position. make sure this side is parallel to the tub.

drill and tap 2 each 8-32 holes into each sponsontube and secure in place with said bolts.

the same will go for the right side (turn fin side) sponson EXCEPT push the turn fin sponson an additional 1/4" FURTHER into the main boom tubes and then repeat as you did with the first sponson.

that takes care of the sponsons.

on to the strut:

set the boat on a flat table WITH OUT the turn fin attached.

install you strut (speedmaster if you have one, if not , and you have an original Tidewater strut, that will be fine also.)

set the strut heighth so that the rear sponsons are about 1/16 to 1/8" ABOVE the surface of the table top. (this is a starting point.)