2 Blade or 3 Blade

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jcazz

Ok everyone, i am in the mix on what type of props to use with my prather 11cc tunnel with HTB pipe and header. I have used the 2 blade prather props before and they seem to work well, i have a S235 and an S240. But would the right 3 blade props work as well as the 2 blades, or will the 3 blade slow the boat down a bit more but increase handling?

bump~ please help me on this question, i have ran .21 tunnels in the past etc, but this is my first time getting my 11cc going, ive had it for 6 years and never got it going until now

The difference in what a 3 blade prop vs a 2 blade will do to the handling of the hull has as much to do with the hull itself. Some boats like a 3 blade and some don't. My experience has been the 3 blade lifts the stern of the boat a little more. Some people swear that it makes their boat turn better. Again, depends on the hull. Don't give up on a 3 blade without making changes to engine vertical position and trim position. Sometimes a very slight change in either of those will make a prop work on a particular hull.

Its alot of trial and error......Also can depend on your driving style, weight of hull, type of hull, hull balance, etc.....A pitched up X-646/3 will work good on that hull/engine combo. I have found a 3 blade to be faster in the corners.....you will see this when as your boat corners, it will seem to gain speed......An X-452/3 or possibly an X-455/3 may also work.....I have always gone for rpm, so smaller diameters with more pitch worked for me......Play with engine height and angles and even tilting the engine when viewed from the back to load the sponsons when cornering......Lots of testing required......tunnels can be the hardest hulls to set up.....