1/8 scale transom design

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chris Lina

I've got a couple of questions for the scale unlimited experts. I'm planning on building a scratch built 1/8 scale cmb powered Peters & May U-11. I have already scratch built the U-8 LLumar from Newton plans so I am not a total novice. I am an exact scale freak so I want to duplicate the full size boat as much as possible. I have been very impressed with the Joe Moceri, Doug Shepard, and Mike Luszcz hulls.

One area that seems to be neglected in all available hulls is the rear swimdeck design of the modern hydroplanes mainly Dale Van Weiringen designed hulls.To me none of the available hulls; RC boat, ML Boatworks, or even Roger Newtons plans of the T-6 have the rear swimdeck inset designed deep enough according to my documentation. The area in question is the distance from the ends of the rear ride pads to the inset transom.

My second question is; On the full size hydros does the left rear ride pad extend back a touch further than the right rear ride pad? In alot of pictures it appears that it does, but I can"t be sure, and I realize on the model this would be reversed.

On this model I am going to scratch build a scale rudder bracket and rudder using tubular stainless steel silver soldered together. What I would really like to do is purchase one of Mike Luszcz T-6 kits and modify it accordingly.

Your thoughts please, Thank You.

Chris Lina

Me and Harvey (Harvnox) had the same conversation about one rear ski sticking out farther then the other. I know in the bud T-6 from looking at pictures on does stick out farther.

I can say the same thing about the Oberto's rear shoes, one is cut back and recessed but don't remember which one. I've got most of the dimensions for the Oberto at home from measuring the boat so I'll see what I can dig up either tonight or tomorrow