Tuning New Sprint Cat

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BradV

Yesterday had my maiden voyage with the CMB1.0 SprintCat. All went well apart from some tuning difficulties.

Building took longer than planned but I ended up with an awesome paint job by a professional auto painter in 2 pack polyurethane, will post pics later.

This is my first time owning a motor with remote needle and I found it would idle well, but opening the throttle caused it to stall repeatedly. I'm guessing I'm still on the rich side - set the CMB needle between 2-3 turns on 40% nitro.

Are they normally this fussy to tune? I got the feeling with a big dose of revs and a throw into the water it would have taken off, but I didn't really want to do that with a new motor.

Any idea men on where to start the needle?

an new engine??? :eek: Then I wouldn't open the throttle toooooooo much, stay on the rich side and cruise around for some laps . <_<

Is the diameter of your fuel-tube sufficient to feed this thirsty baby when you start to rev it up? :rolleyes:

Saugling said:
an new engine???  :eek:   Then I wouldn't open the throttle toooooooo much, stay on the rich side and cruise around for some laps .  <_<
Is the diameter of your fuel-tube sufficient to feed this thirsty baby when you start to rev it up?  :rolleyes:

69626[/snapback]

I'm gathering it's still on the rich side, have some smoke and oil residue in the pipe.

Yeah I went to 5/32 size pipe on all the fuel fittings. Prop size is conservative at this stage with an X462.

It will work out fine I'm sure, this first time out I had no-one to help me so a bit difficult launching the boat and on the throttle at the same time.