RTR class(es)

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I didn't mean to belittle or demean any type of boat or boater with my "Lunch Break" comment. I actually suggested 3 different options in my comments. All directed at getting these RTR guys out to a race course with bouys and people who can help them get going in the right direction. My first suggestion was the (roughly) RTR and under .21 class. My other suggestion was for a day for clubs to introduce these guys to racing(a day all their own). I also said the IMPBA and clubs need to look into getting some kind of Novice/RTR class. Did you miss all that? I have some experience at organising competitive events from a lifetime of model airplanes. I'm new to boats myself and have been racing boats for just over a year. I'm trying to help you here, but I can tell you if you get this too complicated it will never get off the ground. You are presently discussing rule changes for the IMPBA to create a national event out of something that at present is an almost non existent entity(the racing of RTR boats). At this time I could only support a (stock/hydroplane)RTR and under .21. If it goes really well then it will expand because it will have to.

Mike

I understand it being a tight schedule but the words written by Racer504 is what I was talking about earlier. Let them run during our lunch break attitude. There are a bunch of RTR guys out there that want to run and that is the attitude that will drive everyone off. See Ron I told you this is the type of people that will ruin it for the new guys. The class needs to hold equal standing and I think several people agree with this. If you minimize the new guys, they will gone in a matter of days. I don't thik boating can really afford that.