receiver battery for open outboard

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chriscarbon

Supporting Member
the previous tunnel that i have been running for the past 3 years i used 2000 sub c 6 volt packs. this is what others were using however with the size of the pack it was located outside the radio box. the weight was needed up frount so it was weight put to good use. with the new hull i am working on there is room for a 4/5 6 volt pack or a aa nimh pack on the inside of the radio box. is there enough power to operate two quarter scale servos and two regular servos for this application. the charger that i have can be updated to charge the nimh. also what amperage do you charge the nimh. in other words what are you using and how are you charging. i have heard that the nimh don't like heat.

thanks

chris carboneau

Chris,

I charge my NIMH at around .5C (for a 2000mah pack that is 1 Amp). If you don’t have a charger with Peak detection and if you want a full charge you should discharge your battery then recharge to C (capacity) by charging at some R(rate) X T (time) = C (capacity of your cells). At .5 C you are pretty safe and don’t need to be too concerned about heat. If it’s a new set of batts you might consider a “break-in” charge of .25C with a couple of cycles. If you want to start using rates around 1C you will start to develop some heat and will have to account for heat loss in your total charging time.

Or you can do it the easy way and get a peak detection charger (I won’t do without one) hook it up and go mix a tall drink.

kevin,

thanks for your reply. i am gathering that a 5 cell pack of aa 2000 mah NIMH will work for my application. a friend is going to charge my batteries while i send my charger in to have it up dated to charge the NIMH batteries. :)

1. initial charge .25c or .5 amp for 2 cycles.