Prop slippage

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TCHedOff

First, let me thank Glen Quarles for explaining to me that the gear ratio to be inputted on Mark Sholund's prop chart calculator should be 1 (DUH!!!!) Sometimes your asked a question that just gives you a brain fart 'cause your suprised by a question & end up overthinking what you are really being asked! :lol: :lol: and afterwards you go I KNEW that....

Anyway, I used Mark's tool and put in 25k for RPM on a standard 1445 prop w/2.478 pitch to see MPH at 30% slippage (Mark's recommendation today) and you get 41.1 MPH. (Great) So I started playing w/variables.... hmm for every 1000 RPm you pick up @ 1 MPH. (Great to know - want RPM).

Then I noticed at the bottom it suggests 15% slippage for a hydro not 30% (hmmm lets try that!) - (should have asked Mark today about the discrepancy!) at 25k on the 1445 prop - you get 51.9 MPH :blink: . Jeez!!!!!!! Slippage is an important factor! <_<

So I do a search on "slippage" here.... and after much reading, see it comes up in passing a few times but not as a devoted topic... so I'm bringing it up as a can o' worms.

What factors influence prop & how can it be reduced? To add fuel, here's a quote from Andy Brown:

"I'm not as sharp as some of the Professors of "Propology", but having been a model boater for over thirty years and having had a keen interest in props since day one, I've had the hands on experience of working with and seeing the effects of changes to thousands of props.

The key to the slippage is the "MOVED" water and learning how to use it to in fact make it USEFULL.

The difference between a good prop and a great prop are what they do with the "MOVED" water.

Slippage will always appear to be present if the average pitch is compared to the actual forward movement.