Prop question anyone?

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jasoncsc

Hi guys!

I would like to pick your brains here.

I am a newbie. I notice that everytime when I put the boat (A surface drive Microburst 21, X440/3 prop) onto the water, the boat would accelerate very fast, but this "boost" soon died out after a straight of 30 feet, and the speed of the boat, even though its fast, but is not as fast as like when I dropped it on the water. I thought about this for a while, and think that if I could keep this "boost" on all the way then my boat would be much faster.... Can anyone enlighten me that this "boost" effect, maybe is due to that when I drop the boat onto the water the prop is fully submerged, and when the boat reached a certain speed the prop would become 'surfaced', and if this reasoning of mine is true is it that I am using a prop too small and I should use a bigger prop I could ?

Also, what's the performance difference in running a 2 bladed and 3 bladed prop?

Thanks!

Regards,

Jason

I have one idea,

The motor gets to a good operating temp after you start it and get it to the water. Then 30 feet out it starts getting water flow to the motor and cools down.

-MikeP

Jason,

The 440/3 should be good on the 3.5 mono's

That's the prop my MicroBurst liked.

Sounds like your on the LEAN side a bit.

Try and richen the fuel mixture on the carb some and try this before changing too much to the boat like props and such.

Make sure you give the boat a good toss at the launch,you don't just want to drop it in. ;D

What engine are you using?What's pipe length?

Two-versus Three Blade....

Well I'm not a prop tech guys....I'm still learning the props....

But the three blades seem to work good on the mono's as a rule of thumb.Two blades work good to I run two blade props on my A-mono right now with good results.