Perry pump with K&B red carb?

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jstew0903

Perry pump with K&B red carb?

I am new to nitro outboards. I have a K&b 3.5cc outboard. I got the 3.5cc and it has the exhaust passage opend to one long hole instead 4 tiny small ones. The problem I have when I run the boat is I can run flat out for about 2 seconds and then the engine just peters out(no offense if you are reading this and your name is peter!!). I put a piece of balsa in the exhaust to restrict it a little and this helps, It will not peter out as fast but does loose top end power. I am also using 15%nitro by the way.

Now to the my topic. I have rc airplanes and have used the perry pumps on a engine and it worked great. I bought a red carb for this engine( tried the black carb and it does the same thing). Is the red carb and airbleed carb or can I use a pump with it. In the perry pumps instructions it says to use with a carb that has a low end and high end needles. If anyone could help with this problem it would be greatly app. I have check the entire fuel tank and hoses(no restrictions or blockage). I also am running a piggy back tank that aout a half inch lower than the carb. If you have any other advice to make it beat my buddys 7.5cc lapcat let me know:)

Thanks for the help in advance!!

Jason

Re:perry pump with K&B red carb?

According to K&B's exploded view of the carbs, the only difference in the carbs is throat diameter. Don't know if that helps with the pump idea, but when you get it figured out, run some 40% nitro--your K&B will thank you!