New engine run in tips?

Intlwaters

Help Support Intlwaters:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jaso

Just after some tips on running in my new CMB .90

I was told by some one to maybe start off with a slightly smaller prop than ideal until I've put some run time into it,but I would have thought that running a smaller prop maybe not good for the possible accidental over rev.

I'm a mechanic by trade and I've always thought that slightly loading a engine was more beneficial to run in than an unloaded engine. Any tips anyone?

And I know that the most critical thing is to ensure that it is running a bit too rich as a lean run would not be good in its new condition as at any time of a engines life. :)

Don't under prop a nitro and don't over prop an electric.

However, slightly smaller or less pitch shouldn't be a problem for breaking in. ;)

I think the idea is that a slightly under sized prop will get you running so you can get in some beak in time without other problems.

-MikeP

Well that .90 is a torquey engine. It can handle big props. As far as a break in, I would run it rich a couple of tanks, and then set in the needle.

and go from there.

Best thing for props, as we cant check RPMs on nitro engines. I just get a couple different props and check speed, and pitch up and play untill i get my max speed.

NT

There are probably as many theories as there are members in here. One friend runs them rich like we alll should, one thing that he does differently is to run it fast on the straightaway then slow it down it the corners to "cycle" it. I've found that with my engines that they will swing a bigger blade once they're broken in. Some take longer than others. Pre-lubing an engine before starting it the first time is highly recommended just like on full-sized engines. That is why it is discouraged to pull-start engines in the Hobby Shops or before it is ready to be fired for the first time.